Sharing your calendar in Entourage 2004/2008

You can use Entourage 2004 or Entourage 2008 to share your Exchange calendar with other people.

Before You Begin

When you share your calendar with someone, that person can open your calendar. You can give another person permission to create meetings on your behalf and to make other changes.

There are several types of sharing; here are two common choices:

  • Reviewer - Allows a person to see your calendar, but not make changes to it.
  • Editor - Allows a person to see and make changes to your calendar. An editor can create meetings on your behalf.

What’s the difference between delegates and sharing?

The most important difference between delegates and sharing has to do with the Editor delegate type.

If you make someone an editor delegate, you can make that person receive meeting-related emails sent to you. When someone invites you to a meeting, both you and your delegate receive the email invite. Your delegate can then accept or decline the meeting on your behalf.

If you just share your calendar with someone (even if you make that person an editor), he or she will not receive meeting-related emails sent to you. You can allow that person to create meetings on your behalf and make other changes to your calendar, but you are responsible for accepting and declining your own meeting requests.

If you decide to add someone as your delegate, refer to Adding a delegate to your calendar in Entourage 2004/2008. You do not need to follow the instructions below. When you establish a delegate, your calendar is automatically shared with that person.

Sharing Your Calendar

To use Entourage 2004 or Entourage 2008 to share your calendar, do the following:

  1. Open Entourage 2004 or Entourage 2008.
  2. Click Calendar in the upper left corner of the window.
  3. Ctrl-click (or right-click) on your Exchange calendar in the list on the left.
  4. Select Sharing from the pop-up menu.
  5. Click Add User….
  6. Type the name or ULID of the person you want to share your calendar with, and click Find.
  7. Select the name from the search results and click OK.
  8. Select the name you just added. Right now, the Permission Level is None.
  9. To change it, click the Permission Level: drop-down menu. Reviewer and editor, two common permission levels (types of sharing), are described above.
  10. When you are done, click OK.

Your Exchange calendar is now shared. You should inform those you shared your calendar with so they can open it in Outlook or Entourage.